¡Adiós Perú, ha sido divertido!

kate

The day has finally arrived, I have said all I can think of to say about our trip to Peru.  The journey to Peru itself was fantastic and overwhelming.  We experienced so much in such a short period of time that it seems almost surreal.  Lima, Ica, Nazca, Cusco, Tambopata Ecological Reserve – All in 17 days.

Cusco2

My favorite city in Peru was definitely Cusco, it had a personality and charm to it that appealed to me.  My top 2 experiences while there were definitely flying over the Nazca lines and pilgrimaging to Machu Picchu.

Plane

I can admit now that I was scared silly of the thought of getting on that tiny plane to see the lines.  Truth be told it was the smoothest plane ride I have ever taken.

I started this blog with the intent that we would check in while abroad with those here in the U.S.  What it turned into was, well, very different.  I thought maybe my mom, husband, and a few friends or co-workers would check in to see how our trip went.  And they did.  What I realized when we returned is that a few short sentences written an 1 am did not do our experience justice.  I also had a journal full of data and thoughts sitting on the edge of my desk. So I continued to write.

I started my reflections postings as a way to process what I had learned, and as a way to re-experience it at a slower more thoughtful pace.  I said maybe those same family and friends would like to hear more too.  And they did.  But so did so many more of you.  I want to say thank you for taking the journey with me.  I found that I like sharing my thoughts with you and I am flattered that you find them interesting.

I will leave all things Peru with the promise that there will be more to come – from other interesting places.  We will travel to Ecuador this summer and I just returned from a short trip to Western Ireland.  Maybe I shall describe that in the mean time.

As I leave Peru in my rear-view mirror I thank you for going along for the ride and will share the 10 things I learned.

10 Things I learned in Peru:

1. There are levels of clean and dirty in life

2. Moving in with complete strangers is only weird for the first 15 minutes, especially if you are exhausted

3. Never eat eggs that don’t look cooked well done

4. Spanglish is a valid form of communication

5. The idea of trekking through the jungle is much more glamorous than actually doing so

6. You can be stalked by a bird, and feel weirdly violated because of it

7. Just because all the seats on the bus are taken & there are 9 people standing in the center aisle, doesn’t mean there isn’t room for 10 or 12 more

8. When on said bus, some unknown individual will inevitably grab your booty

9. Coffee beans grown in Peru are only enjoyed by people who don’t actually live in Peru (along with a few other common U.S. imports)

10. I never (again) want to ask the question “what are we looking for?” And have the answer be ” the giant anaconda.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 17:40:26

    Thank you letting me ride along! It was a great trip even from just reading the blog!

    Reply

  2. bettykay
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 05:24:37

    Very nice wrap up to the Peru trip and closing this chapter on your blog. Love the list of life lessons learned in Peru :).

    Reply

  3. Patricia Scott
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 16:25:20

    Sounds like you had fun, but probably are very HAPPY to be back home under normal living conditions!! ~~Merry Christmas Dr. B:-)

    Reply

A penny for your thoughts...

Chair of Social Science, Humanities,
& Foreign Languages

Liberal Arts & University Transfer
Craven Community College

800 College Court
New Bern, NC 28562
Email: bellaceroc@cravencc.edu
Phone: 252.638.7328
Fax: 252.638.3231

Blog Stats

  • 26,081 hits
