Why I Bothered to Learn Irish

Reblogging this post as an excellent example of how language and culture together are critical to the development of human individuals and without them, our psychological and social development is incomplete.

The world view of a culture is communicated and perhaps even shaped partially by language. The culture a people share is connected to the language they speak. Idenity, history, inclusivness and exclusion can all be expressed by language and whom does and does not speak it.

Hope you find the post as interesting as I do, and it fits our Irish theme too!

anoutsiderincamus

I was born and raised in Australia and I came to Ireland and began learning Irish in my thirties. I consider myself to be extremely lucky to have had the opportunity to learn it. While I’m a long way from being articulate ‘as Gaeilge’ I am for the most part beyond the pain barrier that everyone experiences learning a language as an adult. I have had some of the best times of my life learning Irish. But it didn’t take me long to realise that I had also entered a cultural obstacle course.

In the early days I was surprised to find I had to justify myself a lot to people who think the language is worthless. I can’t tell you how many times I was asked ‘Why on earth would you want to learn Irish?’, as if I had had some kind of breakdown and was retreating from the…

View original post 1,526 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hank
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 15:14:29

    Interesting blog, Cynthia

    Reply

A penny for your thoughts...

Chair of Social Science, Humanities,
& Foreign Languages

Liberal Arts & University Transfer
Craven Community College

800 College Court
New Bern, NC 28562
Email: bellaceroc@cravencc.edu
Phone: 252.638.7328
Fax: 252.638.3231

Blog Stats

  • 26,105 hits
